Working groups are set up by a group of Ministries of Education to tackle a specific issue. The remit and duration are defined by the Ministries involved.

1. Indicators Working Group

Description: This working group has been set to exchange about existing national surveys on ICT at school, discuss their various results and provide possible follow-up actions to improve the monitoring of ICT developments in education at cross-country/European/worldwide level in a comparative way. 

In 2017, the work of the Working Group has been supported by the Research Institute for the Evaluation of Public Policies FBK-IRVAPP that produced a comparative report on existing national surveys on ICT at school around Europe on the basis of detailed information collected through the working group members in a structures way. The report entitled ‘Comparative analysis of the European surveys on ICT at school' reveals the diversity of methodologies, target populations, topics and education level covered across countries. 

The working group also discusses the need for new indicators to better cover and monitor the qualitative processes related to the use of ICT in school, especially in relation to teaching and learning practice, space organisation of the learning environment, and innovative teacher training schemes.    

Member countries: Austria, Belgium (Flanders), Belgium (Wallonia), Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden and Turkey.

2. Interactive Classroom Working Group

Description: The Interactive Classroom Working Group (ICWG) allows policy makers to explore common areas of concern, share experience, and address policy challenges related to the integration of a wide range of technologies in classrooms and their impact on teaching and learning. The ICWG is currently focusing on different approaches to personalising learning that includes: developing guidelines on adapting learning spaces in schools; creating short learning activities for teachers interested in personalising learning, and publishing BYOD (Bring Your Own Device) technical guidelines as a follow up to the BYOD guide for school leaders.

Member countries: Austria, Czech Republic, Estonia, Ireland, Luxembourg, Italy, Norway, Portugal, Switzerland, and Turkey.

Check out the ICWG's video playlist on personalised learning below, featuring experiences and tips from teachers across Europe.

3. Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics Working Group

Description: The Ministries of Education Representatives STEM Working Group is a platform for discussion and exchange for Ministries of Education regarding their STEM education policies. The overall objective of this initiative is to help lay the foundations for medium and long-term strategies and activities between ministries of education and European Schoolnet in the field of STEM education, following an agenda that addresses the Ministries' priorities and main interests. The working group is coordinated by European Schoolnet and supported by Scientix, the community for science education in Europe. The members of the working group are appointed by the Ministries of Education directly. 

Member countries: Austria, Belgium (Flanders), Belgium (Wallonia), Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Israel, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Spain and Turkey.

4. Digital Citizenship Working Group

Description: This new working group has been recently established, following the outcomes of EMINENT 2016, European Schoolnet's annual conference which was dedicated to the issue of digital citizenship. This working group will concentrate in the first instance on a specific sub-area of digital citizenship; the digital competence of teachers, students and schools. Specific meetings of the group are currently being organized and will focus on teachers' self-assessment of digital competence, as well as requirements related to the digital competence and citizenship of students and educational organizations.

Countries: Austria, Belgium (Flanders), Belgium (Federation Wallonia Brussels), Denmark, Finland, Hungary, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Turkey.